Pine Technical & Community College

Databases
ABCEFGHILMNPRSTNumAll

Gunsmithing Help Guide
  • One Search  by keyword, PTCC Online and Print as the location to search
  • Shelving locations--General Collection in the 683.4 call number A-Z
  • Reserves Collection behind service desk, includes both books and DVD's
  • Reference Non-cataloged bound issues of gunsmithing magazines, back side of stack behind service desk
  • Current issues of gunsmithing magazines located on shelving next to window on east side of LRTC

30-Minute Music Hour
"In response to Wisconsin's thriving independent music scene, the 30-Minute Music Hour offers a free-form stage where artists from around the state and country perform music that might otherwise go unheard" (PBS.org).
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 
Restricted Resource
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
Restricted Resource
Alt-Health Watch
"This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990"
Restricted Resource
Amendment 2--National Constitution Center

Austin City Limits (PBS)
"ACL, the longest running music series in the country,showcases popular music legends and innovators from all genres.  Great music. No limits" (PBS.org).
Brady Campaign YouTube Videos
Of the 30,000 people who die in this country each year, how many could be saved? Brady’s strategic approach of legal action against bad apple gun dealers, extending background checks & changing social norms around guns seeks to change this reality.
Resource contains video
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Restricted Resource
Cinahl Plus with Full Text
"CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937."
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Consumer Health Complete on EBSCOhost
"Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes theClinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis."
Restricted Resource
EBSCO Business Source Premier

Restricted Resource
EBSCO eBook Collection
Collection of over 12,500 full text, fully searchable electronic books from all subject areas including over 3,400 older "public domain" works. The recent e-books are also available through the library catalog.
Restricted Resource
EBSCO eBooks: MUSIC Collection

Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO Health & Medicine eBook Collection Help Guide
  • Over 1,200 Health & Medicine eBooks
  • Many available for download after initial (free) account set-up

Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCOhost: Select all databases or choose your favorites to conduct a search of our online articles and eBooks.
 
  • EBSCO provides research access to thousands of journals, magazines and other reference resources.
  • Full-text is available for many articles.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) option is available for most articles not immediately available in full-text.
  • eBooks can be accessed through this link.

Restricted Resource Some full text available
Folkstreams.net
"Folkstreams.net has two goals. One is to build a national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures. The other is to give them renewed life by streaming them on the internet. The films were produced by independent filmmakers in a golden age that began in the 1960s and was made possible by the development first of portable cameras and then capacity for synch sound. Their films focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different regions and communities."
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
"This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas."
Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference: Health Books
Use your StarID or Library Barcode number to access the Gale Virtual Reference Library's eBook collection.
Restricted Resource
Health Source: Consumer Edition
"This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines."
Restricted Resource
Health Source: Nursing/Adademic Edition
"This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."
Restricted Resource
IMVDB: Internet Music Video Database
"Discover new videos, follow artists and directors, create playlists and channels, or help expand the  database" (imvdb.com).
Latin Music USA (PBS)
"From Latin jazz and mambo to salsa, Tejano, Chicano rock, Latin pop and reggaeton, LATIN MUSIC USA tells the story of the rise of new American music forged from powerful Latin roots and reveals the often overlooked influence of Latin music on jazz, hip hop, rhythm and blues and rock 'n' roll and on all of American culture" (PBS.org).
Library Contacts & General Information

Library Hours

Library of Congress: Performing Arts & Music Collection
From the American Memory Project website.  Includes jazz, gospel, vaudeville, blues, civil war music, etc.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
"Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s."
Restricted Resource
MAS Ultra- School Edition
"Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines."
Restricted Resource
MasterFILE Premier
"Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest,MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost."
Restricted Resource
Medcom/Trainex Streaming Video Collection
  • 24/7 access to twenty-six full-length healthcare videos.
  • Use your StarID or library barcode when prompted for off-campus access.

Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Middle Search Plus
"Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags."
Restricted Resource
midomi music search
"midomi is the ultimate music search tool because it is powered by your voice. Sing, hum, or whistle to instantly find your favorite music and connect with a community that shares your musical interests" (midomi.com).
Music Vault
"The World's Greatest Collection of Live Music"

http://www.musicvault.com/

https://www.youtube.com/user/musicvault (YouTube Channel)
 
NRA Stand and Fight
While widely recognized today as a major political force and as America's foremost defender of Second Amendment rights, the NRA has, since its inception, been the premier firearms education organization in the world.
Resource contains video
Pandora Internet Radio
"The name Pandora means "all gifted" in Greek. In ancient Greek mythology, Pandora received many gifts from the gods, including the gift of music, from Apollo.  She was also, as we all know, very curious. Unlike those gods of old, however, we celebrate that virtue and have made it our mission to reward the musically curious among us with a never-ending experience of music discovery" (pandora.com).
PBS Music

Primary Search
"Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990."
Restricted Resource
Professional Development Collection
"Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world."
Restricted Resource
Radiosearchengine.com
"Search for your favorite artist and listen to their music. If it’s not playing right now, you’ll find stations that will likely play it which will lead to other music and stations you’re sure to enjoy" (radiosearchengine.com). 
Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 
Restricted Resource
Research Guide: Gunsmithing Help Guide
  • One Search  by keyword, PTCC Online and Print as the location to search
  • Shelving locations--General Collection in the 683.4 call number A-Z
  • Reserves Collection behind service desk, includes both books and DVD's
  • Reference Non-cataloged bound issues of gunsmithing magazines, back side of stack behind service desk
  • Current issues of gunsmithing magazines located on shelving next to window on east side of LRTC

Sample Record
Here you can enter a description of the record.  A description may be overwritten for a given subject by clicking the icon next to the desired subject in the Record screen.

Science Reference Center
"Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife."
Restricted Resource
Second Amendment--Annenberg Classroom

Songs of America Collection (Library of Congress)

TED Talks: Music
"These TED Talks--from maestros, musical virtuosos and the occasional robot--take you into the world of creating and conducting music."
Questions?
Search Databases


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
SFX Findit = OpenURL Enabled
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files
ELM = ELM
eRef = eRef
eBook = eBook
Databases = Databases



Powered by SubjectsPlus