Pine Technical & Community College

Need Help?
Contact Your PTCC Librarian
Email: Adam.Bezdicek@pine.edu
Phone: (320) 629-5169

Ask a Librarian MN
24/7 reference service that will help you with any questions you may have about citation.
Cite Your Sources
PTCC Citation Guide
A guide to citing sources in MLA and APA styles hosted by the PTCC Library.

APA Citation Quick Reference
A quick reference displaying proper APA in-text and bibliographic citations for a wide variety of source types.

Purdue APA Citation Style Guide
Online APA style guide that demonstrates how to cite a wide variety of resources.

Citation Builder
An easy to use citation generator for both APA and MLA styles.  Just enter some basic information about your resource, choose a format, and Citation Builder will create a citation for you.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Find Journal Articles
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Includes over 5,300 indexed titles, over 3,000 of which are full-text, in all disciplines including business and economics, social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.
Find Newspaper and Magazine Articles
The Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search, view, and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present. 

ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to over 1,300 newspapers and news wire services from the United States and around the world, including The New York Times, The Saint Paul Pioneer Press, and The Star Tribune

PTCC Print Periodicals
PTCC subscribes to 40+ print magazines and newspapers, including Enterprise Minnesota, Entrepreneur, Minnesota Business, Minnesota Economic TrendsWorking Mother, and Time. Articles within print publications can be searched through the "Articles and More" tab of the PTCC Catalog and accessed in the LRTC.
Find Books
EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource
Collection of over 12,500 full text, fully searchable electronic books from all subject areas including over 3,400 older "public domain" works. The recent e-books are also available through the library catalog.

PTCC Print and eBook Collection
Search for books and eBooks in both the PTCC and MN State catalogs by using the "Books" filter under "Resource Type" on the left tool bar. 
 
Industry Information
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Unrestricted Resource
The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Statistics by Industry Unrestricted Resource
Contains employment, earnings, safety, producer price indexes (PPI), cost and other statistics on a host of U.S. industries arranged by NAICS code or alphabetically.

Census Bureau Business Builder Unrestricted Resource
Designed for prospective small business owners to research the viability of starting a business in a variety of industries by region.

MN Employment and Economic Development: Data Center Unrestricted Resource
Compiles an assortment of data sources on regional economic trends and industry statistics.
Company Information
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Access company profiles that include overviews, histories, major products and services, competitors, and revenue information.  To search only company profiles click on the "Company Profiles" link in the upper left of the toolbar.

Inc. 5000
Growth and Revenue statistics on the top 5,000 fastest growing private companies.

America's Top Private Companies
Revenue information on 200+ American companies.

 
Consumer Demographic Information
American FactFinder
This is the most comprehensive source for data on the American population, including the decennial census, American Community Survey, economic census, and much more.  Under "Guided Search" select the "Topics" tab and "Business and Industry" to access data on many different aspects of business. 

Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.

American Time Use Survey
Information on the way that Americans spend their time doing various activites.

Pew Research Center
Collection of statistics and facts on a wide variety of topics, including media and technology usage, consumer habits, political topics, and social trends.

Consumer Price Index

A measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.
Economic Information
Economic Indicators Unrestricted Resource
Provides monthly economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The economic census profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years.

Economy at a Glance Unrestricted Resource
The past 6 months' data for Unemployment Rate, Number of Jobs, Average Hourly Earnings, Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, U.S. Import Price Index, employment Cost Index, and Productivity

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
This agency calculates the GDP and provides numerous other accounts statistics. Statistics are broken down into areas for National, International, Regional, and by Industry.


Powered by SubjectsPlus