Pine Technical & Community College

Need Help?
Contact Your PTCC Librarian
Email: Adam.Bezdicek@pine.edu
Phone: (320) 629-5169

Ask a Librarian MN
24/7 reference service that will help you with any questions you may have about citation.
Cite Your Sources
Purdue APA Citation Style Guide
Online APA style guide that demonstrates how to cite a wide variety of resources.

Purdue MLA Citation Style Guide
Online MLA style guide that demonstrates how to cite a wide variety of resources.

Citation Builder
An easy to use citation generator for both APA and MLA styles.  Just enter some basic information about your resource, choose a format, and Citation Builder will create a citation for you.

Tweet2Cite
The easiest way to cite tweets.  Just enter the url of the tweet and Tweet2Cite will generate a citation in APA and MLA styles.
 
Print Resources

Available in the library:

MLA Handbook


APA Manual 6th Ed.
Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 

Alt-Health Watch Restricted Resource
"This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990"

Britannica Academic Restricted Resource
A general encyclopedia covering a host topics from an academic perspective. 


Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.


Cinahl Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
"CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937."


Consumer Health Complete on EBSCOhost Restricted Resource
"Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes theClinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis."


EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource
Collection of over 12,500 full text, fully searchable electronic books from all subject areas including over 3,400 older "public domain" works. The recent e-books are also available through the library catalog.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) Unrestricted Resource
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, eBooks (online books), and other information resources. ELM provides information on a vast array of topics, including consumer information, arts and humanities, current events, health, science, social science, politics, business, and more.

ERIC Restricted Resource
"ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in theCurrent Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index."

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Includes over 5,300 indexed titles, over 3,000 of which are full-text, in all disciplines including business and economics, social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.

Gale Virtual Reference Restricted Resource
An electronic reference book collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks and guides, covering several subject disciplines, including environmental science, health, law, business, and several more.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Health Source: Consumer Edition Restricted Resource
"This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines."

Health Source: Nursing/Adademic Edition Restricted Resource
"This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."

Learning Express Library Unrestricted Resource
A collection of eBooks, tutorials, and test preparation materials covering topics in academic and career success.  Includes ACT, SAT, NCLEX-PN, and NCLEX-RN study materials.  NOTE: You will need to register an account and log-in separately.

MAS Ultra- School Edition Restricted Resource
"Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines."

MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource
"Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest,MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost."

EBSCO MegaFile Restricted Resource
"EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases."

Ovid Nursing Journals Restricted Resource
Nursing and Health Science collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and trade journals.  Includes Nursing 2019, The American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and several more.

PTCC Print Magazines and Newspaper Collection
PTCC subscribes to 40+ print newspapers and magazines, including Atlantic Monthly, Entrepreneur, Prevention, Harper's, Guns & Ammo, and many more.  Articles can be searched via the PTCC library catalog and accessed in the library.

Points of View Reference Center Unrestricted Resource
Contains overviews of current controversial issues and problems along with point and counter-point arguments from differing perspectives and links to newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.

Primary Search Restricted Resource
"Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990."

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource
"Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world."

ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to over 1,300 newspapers and news wire services from the United States and around the world, including The New York Times, The Saint Paul Pioneer Press, and The Star Tribune


Regional Business News Restricted Resource
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
"Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife."

Student Edition Restricted Resource
A database of 100s of magazines on issues in conteporary culture, news, politics, and society.  

Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Compiles reference resources on a host of contemporary topics along with links to newspaper, magazine, peer reviewed, and internet articles.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus