Pine Technical & Community College

Selected PTCC Books & Periodicals
Gun Control in the United States : A Reference Handbook
Too often, the subject of gun control is treated simplistically- from Second Amendment absolutists to gun abolitionists. Simple answers, however, mask complex realities. This book, by a respected scholar of gun control and the author of ABC-CLIO's award-winning Guns in American Society, provides no answers. It does, however, present all aspects of the issue evenhandedly, giving readers both sides of the debate on all the issues and, thus, the tools to make their own informed decision. --(LOC)

The Gun Debate : What Everyone Needs to Know
No topic is more polarizing than guns and gun control. From a gun culture that took root early in American history to the mass shootings that repeatedly bring the public discussion of gun control to a fever pitch, the topic has preoccupied citizens, public officials, and special interest groups for decades. This book delves into the issues that Americans debate when they talk about guns.--Publisher's description.


 
Use this link to search "Gun Control" in the PTCC Library Catalog: Gun Control

 

Did you know? PTCC subscribes to a number of gunsmithing periodicals. Click here to access a current list of titles: http://www.pine.edu/assets/uploads/files/Gunsmithing%20Periodicals%202016-2017.pdf

 
Keywords
Use any of these keywords in the "Book Search" box below to begin your research:
 
  • assault weapons
  • gun control
  • gun rights
  • gun violence
  • gun ownership
  • firearms
  • right to carry
  • right to bear arms
  • school shootings
  • "Second Amendment"
  • "Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act"
  • "Federal Assault Weapons Ban"
  • "Stand Your Ground" laws
Search for Books
PTCC Library Resource & Technology Center
Gun Control Database Searches
EBSCOhost: Select ALL Databases or choose your favorites to conduct a search of our online articles and eBooks. Restricted Resource Some full text available
 
  • EBSCO provides research access to thousands of journals, magazines and other reference resources.
  • Full-text is available for many articles.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) option is available for most articles not immediately available in full-text.
  • eBooks can be accessed through this link.

 
EBSCO RSS FEED

Loading ...

Videos & Streaming Media
Assaulted : Civil Rights Under Fire
A documentary that brings audiences to the center of the controversy over the issue that is dividing our nation: gun control. Narrated by Ice-T, a critically acclaimed rapper and actor, the film takes a critical look at current gun laws and the rising movement to restrict the rights guaranteed by our Second Amendment.--(WORLDCAT)



Brady Campaign YouTube Videos Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
Of the 30,000 people who die in this country each year, how many could be saved? Brady’s strategic approach of legal action against bad apple gun dealers, extending background checks & changing social norms around guns seeks to change this reality.


NRA Stand and Fight Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
While widely recognized today as a major political force and as America's foremost defender of Second Amendment rights, the NRA has, since its inception, been the premier firearms education organization in the world.


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus