Pine Technical & Community College

Need Help?
Contact Your PTCC Librarian
Email: Adam.Bezdicek@pine.edu
Phone: (320) 629-5169

Ask a Librarian MN
24/7 reference service that will help you with any questions you may have about citation.
Cite Your Sources
PTCC Citation Guide
A guide to citing sources in MLA and APA styles hosted by the PTCC Library.

APA Citation Quick Reference
A quick reference displaying proper APA in-text and bibliographic citations for a wide variety of source types.

Purdue APA Citation Style Guide
Online APA style guide that demonstrates how to cite a wide variety of resources.

Citation Builder
An easy to use citation generator for both APA and MLA styles.  Just enter some basic information about your resource, choose a format, and Citation Builder will create a citation for you.
Print Citation Resources

Available in the library:

APA Manual 6th Ed.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Find Background Information and Definitions
Reference Resources are a good place to start researching any topic as they contain information that can get you acquainted with it quickly.  They include resources like encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes, fact books, government statistics, and atlases.  
 

PTCC's Nursing Reference Collection
PTCC's print nursing reference collection contains drug handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, signs and symptoms manuals, care plans, and subject books on a host of specific topics in nursing (Cardiac Nursing, Cancer Nursing, and etc.).  Reference books cannot be checked out, but can be browsed in the library.


AHFS Consumer Medication Information Restricted Resource
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

Gale Virtual Reference: Health Books Restricted Resource
Use your StarID or Library Barcode number to access the Gale Virtual Reference Library's eBook collection.


Or, use these links to access:
Find Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Peer Reviewed Journal Articles contain research conducted by experts within the health sciences.  Peer reviewed articles are written by experts and vetted for quality, so the information they contain is typically more reliable and accurate than other sources.
 

Cinahl Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
"CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937."

Ovid Nursing Journals Restricted Resource
Nursing and Health Science collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and trade journals.  Includes Nursing 2019, The American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and several more.

Health Source: Nursing/Adademic Edition Restricted Resource
"This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."

Consumer Health Complete on EBSCOhost Restricted Resource
"Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes theClinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis."

Alt-Health Watch Restricted Resource
"This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990"
Find Magazine and Newspaper Articles
Magazine Articles contain general information about topics related to a specific subject area or profession.  While many magazine articles may be written by experts within a field, they are typically written for a general audience and thus can be easier to read than academic journal articles.  Newspapers might contain articles on health related topics written for a general audience.
 
Ovid Nursing Journals Restricted Resource
Nursing and Health Science collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and trade journals.  Includes Nursing 2019, The American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and several more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition Restricted Resource
"This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines."

ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to over 1,300 newspapers and news wire services from the United States and around the world, including The New York Times, The Saint Paul Pioneer Press, and The Star Tribune
Find Books
Books are a great place to find indepth information on topics within your field.  Books will typically be devoted to a single broad theme or topic, with individual chapters dedicated to more specific aspects of that topic.  Given this, a single book may only contain a chapter or even just a few pages on your topic, but the information they contain can be very valuable.
 

EBSCO Health & Medicine eBook Collection

PTCC Print and eBook Collection
PTCC has many print books on select topics in nursing that can be checked out in the library.  Click the link above to browse or search within the collection.  Use the search box below to search across PTCC's entire print collection or across all MN State schools.
Search for Books
Find Internet Resources
Internet Resources are any websites, images, video, or other content that you can access for free via search engines like Google or Bing.  Internet resources vary greatly in quality, content, and purpose, and thus extra effort must be put into verifying if the information they contain is valid.
 
Evaluating Internet Resources for Quality
Because anyone can create content on the internet for any number of reasons, it's very important that you evaluate an internet resource to ensure it has valid information before using it in an assignment.  The CRAAP test is a list of questions to ask about a resource.


 

Criteria

Questions to Ask

Currency

  • When was the source written and published?
  • Has the information been updated recently?
  • Is currency pertinent to your research?
  • Are links on the website 

Relevance

  • Does the source cover your research topic comprehensively or only cover one aspect?
  • To what extent does the source answer your research question?
  • Is the source considered popular or scholarly?
  • Is the terminology and language used easy to understand?
  • Is the information form the resource unique?  If not, you might consider using a non-internet resource instead.

Authority 

  • Who is the author (person, company, or organization)?
  • Does the source provide any information that leads you to believe the author is credible or an expert on the topic?
  • Does the source provide contact information for the author?
  • Does the source's domain reveal anything about the source?  For example, is it a university (.edu), government website (.gov), non-profit (.org), or a commercial website (.com)?

Accuracy

  • Does the resource cite its sources?
  • Based on your knowledge, does the information seem accurate? 
  • Can you verify the information in other sources?
  • Are there spelling or grammatical errors?

Purpose

 

  • What is the purpose or motive for the source (educational, commercial, entertainment, promotional, etc.)?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the author pretending to be objective, but really trying to persuade, promote or sell something?
  • Does the source seem biased?


Powered by SubjectsPlus