Pine Technical & Community College

Need Help?
Contact Your PTCC Librarian
Email: Adam.Bezdicek@pine.edu
Phone: (320) 629-5169

Ask a Librarian MN
24/7 reference service that will help you with any questions you may have about citation.
Citing Your Sources
PTCC Citation Guide
A guide to citing sources in MLA and APA styles hosted by the PTCC Library.

PTCC MLA Quick Reference
A quick reference for formatting the most common types of resources in MLA 8th Edition.

Purdue MLA Citation Style Guide
Online MLA style guide that demonstrates how to cite a wide variety of resources.

Citation Builder
An easy to use citation generator for both APA and MLA styles.  Just enter some basic information about your resource, choose a format, and Citation Builder will create a citation for you.

Tweet2Cite
The easiest way to cite tweets.  Just enter the url of the tweet and Tweet2Cite will generate a citation in APA and MLA styles.
Print Resources

Available in the library:

MLA Handbook

Find Background Information and Definitions
Reference Resources are a good place to start researching any topic as they contain information that can get you acquainted with it quickly.  They include resources like encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes, fact books, government statistics, and atlases.  Reference resources like encyclopedias should not be cited in academic writing, but they can help you identify key definitions, issues, problems, and historical events associated with a topic to help you get started on research.  They can also be browsed to identify potential research topics.
 

Points of View Reference Center Unrestricted Resource
Contains overviews of current controversial issues and problems along with point and counter-point arguments from differing perspectives and links to newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.

Britannica Academic Restricted Resource
A general encyclopedia covering a host topics from an academic perspective. 

Gale Virtual Reference Restricted Resource
An electronic reference book collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks and guides, covering several subject disciplines, including environmental science, health, law, business, and several more.

Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Compiles reference resources on a host of contemporary topics along with links to newspaper, magazine, peer reviewed, and internet articles.

PTCC's Print Reference Collection

Search your topic via the above link, then filter by "Reference" under "Collections" on the left toolbar to browse the LRTC's collection of 300+ print reference books on a wide variety of topics. 
 
Find Magazine and Newspaper Articles
Magazine Articles contain general information about topics related to a specific subject area, profession, current events, politics, or pop culture.  While many magazine articles may be written by experts within a field, they are typically written for a general audience and thus can be easier to read than academic journal articles.  Newspapers contain immediate, up-to-date, information on your topic, case studies to use as examples, or editorial opinions on controversial issues and problems from a variety of perspectives.
 

Magazines

EBSCO Combined Magazine Search
Combines all of EBSCO's magazine databases into a single search.  

Student Edition Restricted Resource
A database of 100s of magazines on issues in conteporary culture, news, politics, and society.  

MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource
"Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest,MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost."

Ovid Nursing Journals
Nursing and Health Science collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and trade journals.  Includes Nursing 2019, The American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and several more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition Restricted Resource
"This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines."

PTCC Print Magazines and Newspaper Collection
PTCC subscribes to 40+ print newspapers and magazines, including Atlantic Monthly, Entrepreneur, Prevention, Harper's, Guns & Ammo, and many more.  Articles can be searched via the PTCC library catalog and accessed in the library.

Newspapers


ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to over 1,300 newspapers and news wire services from the United States and around the world, including The New York Times, The Saint Paul Pioneer Press, and The Star Tribune
Find Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Peer Reviewed Journal Articles contain research conducted by experts within their subject areas.  Given that peer reviewed articles are vetted for quality by panels of experts, the information they contain is typically more reliable and accurate than other sources.
 
EBSCO Combined Peer-Reviewed Journal Search
Combine's all of EBSCO's peer-reviewed journal databases.  Includes Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Bussiness Source, and Green File.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Includes over 5,300 indexed titles, over 3,000 of which are full-text, in all disciplines including business and economics, social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Cinahl Plus with Full Text
"CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937."

EBSCOhost: Select all databases or choose your favorites to conduct a search of our online articles and eBooks.
Industry Specific Research
Health Care

Ovid Nursing Journals
Nursing and Health Science collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and trade journals.  Includes Nursing 2019, The American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and several more.

Cinahl Plus with Full Text
"CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937."

General Business

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

 
Find Books
Books are a great place to find indepth information on topics within your field.  Books will typically be devoted to a single broad theme or topic, with individual chapters dedicated to more specific aspects of that topic.  Given this, a single book may only contain a chapter or even just a few pages on your topic, but the information they contain can be very valuable.
 

PTCC Print and eBook Collection
Use this link to search PTCC and MN State's catalog of print and ebooks.  Ebooks can be accessed 24/7 via your star ID and password and print books can be checked out in the LRTC.  If you find something that we don't have, login with your star id and password and click the "request item" link to have it shipped directly to our library.

EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource
Collection of over 12,500 full text, fully searchable electronic books from all subject areas including over 3,400 older "public domain" works. The recent e-books are also available through the library catalog.
Find Internet Resources
Internet Resources are any websites, images, video, or other content that you can access for free via search engines like Google or Bing.  Internet resources vary greatly in quality, content, and purpose, and thus extra effort must be put into verifying if the information they contain is valid.
 
Evaluating Internet Resources for Quality
Because anyone can create content on the internet for any number of reasons, it's very important that you evaluate an internet resource to ensure it has valid information before using it in an assignment.  The CRAAP test is a list of questions to ask about a resource.


 

Criteria

Questions to Ask

Currency

  • When was the source written and published?
  • Has the information been updated recently?
  • Is currency pertinent to your research?
  • Are links on the website 

Relevance

  • Does the source cover your research topic comprehensively or only cover one aspect?
  • To what extent does the source answer your research question?
  • Is the source considered popular or scholarly?
  • Is the terminology and language used easy to understand?
  • Is the information form the resource unique?  If not, you might consider using a non-internet resource instead.

Authority 

  • Who is the author (person, company, or organization)?
  • Does the source provide any information that leads you to believe the author is credible or an expert on the topic?
  • Does the source provide contact information for the author?
  • Does the source's domain reveal anything about the source?  For example, is it a university (.edu), government website (.gov), non-profit (.org), or a commercial website (.com)?

Accuracy

  • Does the resource cite its sources?
  • Based on your knowledge, does the information seem accurate? 
  • Can you verify the information in other sources?
  • Are there spelling or grammatical errors?

Purpose

 

  • What is the purpose or motive for the source (educational, commercial, entertainment, promotional, etc.)?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the author pretending to be objective, but really trying to persuade, promote or sell something?
  • Does the source seem biased?
Argumentative Essay Resources


Powered by SubjectsPlus